Select Page

 

Welcome to the German Zoological Society!

 

The DZG aimes to promote zoological sciences in their full breadth and interdisciplinarity. Of particular interest is the description of the diversity of the animal world, the understanding of the evolution of diversity and the study of different biological processes in all animal groups and in a variety of model systems. To this end, it offers its approximately 1,600 members in Germany, Austria and Switzerland a joint forum and promotes interdisciplinary scientific exchange in conferences and further education.

Our society exists since 1890 and is thus one of the most traditional scientific societies in Germany. It strives to support basic research and teaching at the highest level, regardless of political or economic trends, and to preserve zoological knowledge. The DZG serves exclusively and directly for charitable purposes. More information about the structure and board of the society can be found here

 

Subject Groups


Zoology is an integrative and multidisciplinary science. Therefore, subdisciplines are organized as subject groups within the DZG (Developmental Biology, Evolutionary Biology, Morphology, Neurobiology, Ecology, Physiology, Behavioral Biology and Systematics, Biogeography & Diversity). They represent the scientific expertise of the DZG, advise the board and organize conferences and further education for the next generation of scientists. More info

 

Conferences and Events


The annual conferences of the DZG are the central events for scientific exchange between members and participants from all over the world. Together, hosts from changing universities, the DZG board and the DZG specialist groups organize these international conferences. There we meet for the advisory board meeting and general meeting.

For focused scientific discussions and the promotion of young scientists, the specialist groups also organize symposia, graduate meetings and workshops in which specialist knowledge is acquired and deepened. These events are financially supported by the DZG. More info

 

Awards


The DZG awards prizes to outstanding established scientists in the field of zoology as well as to junior scientists at various stages of their careers. The awards will be presented during the annual conference. More info

 

Publications


Since 1891 the DZG offers a platform for scientific publications. Since 2004, the online magazine “Frontiers in Zoology” (BMC-Verlag) is the official journal of the DZG and is edited by members. It is one of the world’s leading zoology journals. In addition, the publication “Zoology – Communications of the German Zoological Society” (formerly Urban & Fischer, now the Basilisk Press) is published annually with news from the DZG. More info

 

Memberships


The German Zoological Society is a member of the German Life Sciences Association “VBiO”. More info

Herzlich willkommen bei der Deutschen Zoologischen Gesellschaft!

 

Die DZG hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die zoologischen Wissenschaften in ihrer ganzen Breite und Interdisziplinarität zu fördern. Besonderes Interesse liegt dabei auf der Beschreibung der Diversität der Tierwelt, dem Verständnis der Evolution der Vielfalt und im Studium unterschiedlichster biologischer Vorgänge in allen Tiergruppen und in einer Vielzahl von Modellsystemen. Dafür bietet sie ihren etwa 1600 Mitgliedern in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz ein gemeinsames Forum und fördert den interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Austausch in Tagungen und Fortbildungen.

Unsere Gesellschaft besteht seit 1890 und ist damit eine der traditionsreichsten wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaften in Deutschland. Sie ist bestrebt, unabhängig von politischen oder wirtschaftlichen Zeitströmungen, Grundlagenforschung und Lehre auf höchstem Niveau zu unterstützen und zoologisches Wissen zu erhalten. Die DZG dient ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützigen Zwecken. Mehr Informationen zur Struktur und zum Vorstand der DZG finden Sie hier

 

Fachgruppen


Die Zoologie ist eine integrative und multidisziplinäre Wissenschaft. Daher sind Teildisziplinen als Fachgruppen innerhalb der DZG organisiert (Entwicklungsbiologie, Evolutionsbiologie, Morphologie, Neurobiologie, Ökologie, Physiologie, Verhaltensbiologie und Systematik, Biogeographie & Diversität). Sie repräsentieren die wissenschaftliche Expertise der DZG, beraten den Vorstand und organisieren Tagungen und Fortbildungen für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. Mehr Info

 

Tagungen und Veranstaltungen


Die Jahrestagungen der DZG sind die zentralen Veranstaltungen zum wissenschaftlichem Austausch zwischen den Mitgliedern und Teilnehmern aus aller Welt. Gemeinsam organisieren Gastgeber aus wechselnden Universitäten, DZG-Vorstand und die DZG-Fachgruppen diese internationalen Tagungen. Dort treffen wir uns auch für die die Beiratssitzung und Mitgliederversammlung.

Für fokussierte wissenschaftliche Diskussionen und zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses organisieren die Fachgruppen zudem Symposien, Graduiertentreffen und Workshops, in denen Spezialkenntnisse erworben und vertieft werden. Diese Veranstaltungen werden von der DZG finanziell unterstützt. Mehr Info

 

Preise


Die DZG verleiht Preise sowohl an herausragende etablierte Wissenschaftler im Bereich der Zoologie als auch an Nachwuchswissenschaftler in verschiedenen Stadien ihrer Karriere. Die Förderpreise werden im Rahmen der Jahrestagung überreicht. Mehr Info

 

Publikationen


Seit 1891 bietet die DZG eine Plattform für wissenschaftliche Publikationen. Seit 2004 ist die Online-Zeitschrift „Frontiers in Zoology“ (BMC-Verlag) die offizielle Zeitschrift der DZG und wird von Mitgliedern editiert. Sie ist weltweit eine der führenden Zeitschriften im Bereich „Zoologie“.

Zudem erscheint jährlich die Publikation „Zoologie – Mitteilungen der Deutschen Zoologischen Gesellschaft“ (vormals Urban & Fischer, jetzt Basilisken-Presse) unter anderem mit Neuigkeiten aus der DZG. Mehr Info

 

Mitgliedschaften


Die Deutsche Zoologische Gesellschaft ist Mitglied im Verband Biologie, Biowissenschaften und Biomedizin in Deutschland. Mehr Info

DZG 2020

113. Tagung in WürzburgDZG 2020

Mehr Info


Frontiers in Zoology

Die wissenschaftliche Zeitung der DZG
One of the leading journals in Zoology
Mehr Info


Jenaer Erklärung

Fischer M, Hoßfeld U, Krause J, Richter S

Biol. Unserer Zeit, 6/2019, 399-402

JEBiuz.2019.pdf, ca. 460 kb